RSS

PLUC Tales – Uncle Ron’s Legacy…

29 Apr
Wee Kheng's Uke

Wee Kheng’s Uke

I am not at all musically inclined, so it was more fate than design that got me started on the ukulele.

On one of my trips back to Singapore, my daughter Lisa came along. It suddenly occurred to me that we had not seen our favourite uncle and auntie for a long time. So we went and were glad we did because we had a great time.

Uncle Ron, who puts his status on Facebook as ‘happily retired’, was into uke and had founded and led a group. We were treated to an impromptu sing-along which we joined in. When we left, he ran after us and gave Lisa two books that he compiled himself – one was a song book, the other a book of tips for beginners.

On my return to England I got a uke for Lisa as a Christmas present. Some months later she admitted that her busy uni life does not leave her much time to learn a new instrument. Besides she already had a guitar, so I became the reluctant owner of the lovely uke. But there was a problem – I did not know what to do with it.

The development I live in had a Facebook Group, so I posted a message asking if anyone knew a uke tutor and Steph, who attends your sessions, pointed me in your direction.

I found PLUC a godsend. Thanks to Simon, Jeanette, Chris, Rufus, Kevin, Dan and everyone else who makes it so welcoming and enjoyable.

It is so true what they say about music being the food of the soul. The club sessions are an uplifting and pleasant diversion from the everyday cares of life in busy London.

Sadly, Uncle Ron has passed away from cancer but his legacy lives on. He has inspired lots of people to take up the uke, myself included, and my life and soul is so much richer from it.

Wee Kheng

Other PLUC Tales: I Never Liked The Uke – Steve H; Long-Distance Strummer – Gail; New Uker! – Sheila; A Tale Of Two Ukuleles – Tina; The First Rule Of Uke Club… – AnthonyRon’s Progress; Probably The Most Fun Instrument In The World… – Jos; It’s Been A Year – Part 2 – Jeanette; From Classical To PLUC – Andrew; A History Of The Ukulele – And Its Part In My Downfall – JamesSanta Rides Again – Alan F; Steph’s Story; Ron’s Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome; Dan’s Story; Five Years & Loving It – Simon; My Ukulele Origins… – Rufus; Why Ed Started Playing The Ukulele; Ron’s Song; It’s Been A Year… – Jeanette

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Members' Items

 

Tags: , , ,

19 responses to “PLUC Tales – Uncle Ron’s Legacy…

Leave a Reply

 
