RSS

PLUC Tales – Why Ed Started Playing The Ukulele

02 Jan
Stagg Soprano Ukulele (http://www.staggmusic.com/)

Stagg Soprano Ukulele (www.staggmusic.com)

I suggested to my 30 year old son that I wouldn’t mind being able to play some kind of musical instrument now that I have retired from work and have more time on my hands. Perhaps the ukulele would be a good idea because they are reasonable to buy and portable, It would be nice if I could knock out a tune or two for the grand children, I told him.

So, lo and behold, on my birthday in April 2012 he gave me a uke! I must have played around with it a little too much because the bridge came loose (the bit that the strings are fixed to on the body). I tried in vain to glue it back on, it failed to hold. I trawled the internet and found a Stagg soprano ukulele for £35 and then fitted new strings for another £5. The reason for changing the strings was that the cheap ones that were fitted would not stay in tune for very long (new strings made by Aquila are very good).

Well, still only finding songs on the internet and watching things on YouTube were the only resources that I used, then one day I came across the PLUC website: not only did they meet up locally but it was free and new members – even those like me that could hardly play a thing – were welcome.

It was October 2012 that I started going along on a Tuesday evening and found it very relaxed. I was made to feel at home straight away. Playing along with others has been a massive help, I have been able to pick up loads of tips, but most of all it has been fun.

Don’t be put off even if you have never played an instrument before in your life, it is never too late to learn and I am having a great time. My two and three year old grandsons enjoy a singalong as well!

Ed

Other PLUC Tales: I Never Liked The Uke – Steve H; Long-Distance Strummer – Gail; New Uker! – Sheila; A Tale Of Two Ukuleles – Tina; The First Rule Of Uke Club… – AnthonyRon’s Progress; Probably The Most Fun Instrument In The World… – Jos; It’s Been A Year – Part 2 – Jeanette; From Classical To PLUC – Andrew; A History Of The Ukulele – And Its Part In My Downfall – James;Santa Rides Again – Alan F; Steph’s Story; Ron’s Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome; Uncle Ron’s Legacy… – Wee KhengDan’s Story; Five Years & Loving It – Simon; My Ukulele Origins… – RufusRon’s SongIt’s Been A Year… – Jeanette

 
19 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2013 in Members' Items

 

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “PLUC Tales – Why Ed Started Playing The Ukulele

Leave a Reply

 
