RSS

Uke Blogspot

14 Jul

This time’s random uke-related blog is My Friend Tony’s Unusual Hobbies: Ukulele Essentials.

He selects his top five ‘must’ plays for ukers and asked for further suggestions:

  1. Somewhere Over the Rainbow as played by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
  2. I’m Yours by Jason Mraz
  3. Drop Baby Drop by Sean Na’auao
  4. Surf by the Ka’au Crater Boys
  5. Aloha ‘Oe by Queen Lili’uokalani

I proposed one of the standards we play – I’ll See You In My Dreams. Here’s the Joe Brown version at George Harrison’s memorial concert:

Does anyone else have others they’d suggest?

Jeanette

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Uke Blogspot

  1. Tony Bird

    July 15, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Thanks for the mention! In the comments on my original post I recommended a few of my other favorites including Rainbow Connection and Moon River. I also like to play Back Home Again in Indiana because it reminds me of home. I added “I’ll See You in My Dreams” to my repertoire. Uke on!

     
  2. webmasterpluc

    July 16, 2012 at 8:26 am

    No probs, Tony. We’re just the same – we include several ‘crowd pleasers’ but have our faves (often obscure or unusual numbers). I especially enjoy hearing unexpected numbers arranged for the uke, as I love the incongruity!

    It’s good to widen people’s repertoires & break out of the George Formby / Tiny Tim uke preconceptions. Happy strumming! Jeanette

     

Leave a Reply

 
