RSS

PLUC Tales – New Uker!

06 Jul

Sheila's Ashbury Uke

Sheila’s Ashbury Uke

Last year I decided to have a random year of doings which included all sorts of stuff from a boxing match to bingo to a cookery course. And included in my fairly long list was the ukulele. I’d seen clips on YouTube and marvelled at the skill of the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain and just fancied having a go.

I’m really a viola player by trade, so came with knowledge which is an advantage, but I pitched up at PLUC having bought one two days previously on New Year’s Eve, in fact right before going to see Dame Edna at the Palladium. I knew two chords…

I can’t tell you how nice it is to do something musical, in a great group of characters, use a skill I already have and not have to be good at it! Very liberating.

I now know about a dozen chords and six months on just about managing to sing along to the odd song. I love coming to PLUC, it feeds my soul just a little bit.

Sheila

Other PLUC Tales: A Tale Of Two Ukuleles – Tina; The First Rule Of Uke Club… – AnthonyRon’s Progress; Probably The Most Fun Instrument In The World… – Jos; It’s Been A Year – Part 2 – Jeanette; From Classical To PLUC – Andrew; A History Of The Ukulele – And Its Part In My Downfall – JamesSanta Rides Again – Alan F; Steph’s StoryRon’s Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome; Uncle Ron’s Legacy… – Wee Kheng; Dan’s Story; Five Years & Loving It – Simon; My Ukulele Origins… – Rufus; Why Ed Started Playing The Ukulele; Ron’s Song; It’s Been A Year… – Jeanette

 
17 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2014 in Members' Items, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “PLUC Tales – New Uker!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

