RSS

PLUC Member’s Choice 2013 – Bob

17 Dec

For my favourite ukulele tunes, some that I like are:

Love Her Madly – The Doors – Great rhythm to this song but with a tricky section
Can’t Get You Out Of My Head – Kylie Minogue – good chord changes
Dream A Little Dream – Mamas & Papas
I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
The Locomotion – Little Eva
Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – The Animals
Venus – Shocking Blue
The Man Who Sold The World – David Bowie
She’s Not There – The Zombies

In the classics I enjoy:

I Got A Woman – Ray Charles
Blueberry Hill – Fats Domino
Fly Me To The Moon – Frank Sinatra etc
Music To Watch Girls By – Andy Williams
Summertime – Porgy & Bess
Close To You - Carpenters
My Baby Just Cares For Me – Nina Simone

Comedy:

Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini – Brian Hyland
Monster Mash – Bobby ‘Boris’ Pickett & his Cryptkickers – (Halloween special)

For Christmas:

Merry Christmas Everybody – Slade
Mary’s Boy Child – Boney M
Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
Rockin’ Robin – Jackson 5

Another I like is Rasputin - Boney M.

I also have Wooden Heart in D with the melody notes, which I think works better than in G.

Most have clever chord changes & a good tune.

I‘ll stop there but I have more. They’re all nicked from over the interweb – if you’d like  any of these please let me know on club nights.

I have watched quite a lot on YouTube & most things by Sophie Madeline are really good, in particular is Wolf, a song originally by First Aid Kit, but it’s not really a strummer as such. But I did find a good one-man band version of Love Her Madly by logophile.

Bob

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “PLUC Member’s Choice 2013 – Bob

  1. killkaties

    December 17, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Bob- I’ll be there in my saanta’s hat tonight- can you bring me a copy of cant’ get you out of my head, man who sold the world AND she’s not there… I’ll buy you a pint in return.
    James

    To everyone else- see you in the Jolly Farmers!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

